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This document contains advanced rulings and clarifications for the DBZ TCG. If you’re new to the
game, many of these rules may seem superfluous or overly complex. For the most part, you’ll only
need to refer to the CRD for specific cards or intricate scenarios. For ordinary gameplay situations,
refer to Dragon Ball Z: Awakening rulebook (v3.0) - available for download here.

Despite the comprehensive nature of this document, novel interactions are sure to crop up and
require additional explanation. Please contact dbz@paniniamerica.net for any rulings inquiries, or
refer to dbztcg.com for other supplemental information. For an independently run collection of FAQs
and ruling discussions, visit dragonballztcg.wikia.com/wiki/DragonBallZTCG_Wiki.
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General

Legal zones: Cards that you do not own may only be controlled while they are in play. Cards that you
do not own may never enter your Life Deck, Banished Zone, discard pile, or hand.

Example - You play Black Reflection, targeting your opponent’s Devastating Blow. Your opponent
defends with Black Delay, which attempts to return Devastating Blow to your hand. Since you do not
own Devastating Blow, it is not returned to your hand.

Effects with stipulations: Cards that have a stipulation “to” perform an effect require that
stipulation to be met in order for the effect to occur.

Example - You play Battle Pausing. You must banish a card from your hand in order to draw the top 2
cards of your discard pile.

Similarly, effects that retroactively check for a specific condition must actually meet the
requirement.

Example - You discard Blue Guard to the effect of Blue Protective Mastery to stop an attack. You
elect to use the replacement effect of Blue Guard to banish itself instead. You would not be able to
raise or lower a player’s anger 1 level, as Blue Guard was not “discarded.”

Naming: When a card effect requires naming an Ally, you do not need to name the Allies sub-name.
For example, “Bulma Ally” would be acceptable. Otherwise, the exact card title must be named.

Considered to be Named or Styled: Cards that are “considered to be Named” take on the name of
your MP for all card effects. Similarly, cards that are “considered to be Styled” take on the Style of
your Mastery.

Example - Black Back Strike would count as a “Frieza Named card” for Frieza’s Supernova. Defiant
Challenge would be able to search for Saiyan Freedom.

Dragon Ball Immunity: Whenever a card effect allows you to “name” a card, Dragon Balls may not be
named.

Example - You may not name a Dragon Ball with the immediate effect of Android 20’s Domination.

Drill Powers: Drill Powers may only be activated once per combat, but may be used again whenever
they leave and re-enter play.



Damage

Dragon Balls: When taking damage, Dragon Balls that are banished (due to another copy being in
play) do not require a replacement discard.

Discarding damage: Life Cards of damage are always inherently discarded. When an attack such as
Red Left Bolt or Saiyan Cheap Shot causes damage to be banished, you may use Endurance against
that attack. Similarly, any Dragon Balls discarded during damage would still be placed on the bottom
of your Life Deck and require a replacement discard.

Damage calculation: When taking damage, Power Stages that have been converted to Life Cards may
be prevented by effects that prevent Life Cards of damage (such as Endurance). However, effects
that modify damage calculation (such as Orange Hiding Drill) take place before the conversion, and
they do not apply to power stages of damage.

Defending attacks: Whenever your opponent plays an attack, you may always play or use one “shield
icon” card.

Example - a) Your opponent plays an attack that would already by stopped by Time is a Warrior’s
Tool. You may still play or use a “shield icon” card in defense. b) Your opponent plays Krillin’s
Destructo Disk. You may still play or use a “shield icon” card in attempted defense.

Stages and Life Cards of damage: When a successful attack deals both stages and Life Cards of
damage, the stages of damage are taken first.



Timing

Combat: Effects that take place “when entering combat” are not considered to be “during combat.”
Effects that take place “at the end of combat” are considered to be “during combat.”

Attack sequence:
1) Pay any costs of the attack.
2) Use any immediate effects of the attack.

3) Opponent may play or use one shield icon card and use its immediate effects. It is then discarded/
banished (if applicable).

4) Calculate and deal any unstopped or un-prevented damage.

)
5) Use any HIT effects.
6) If Critical Damage was dealt, you may choose a Critical Damage effect.
)

7) The attack is then discarded/banished (if applicable).

Order of effects: When you play or use a card, resolve its immediate effects in the order listed on
the card (one sentence at a time). Then, discard or banish the card (if applicable).

Example - You play Namekian Wish. Resolve the first sentence, which is “End Combat.” Next, choose
X cards in your discard pile and Rejuvenate them. You do not gain anger from the effect of
Namekian Knowledge Mastery, as combat has already ended.

Special timings: Effects that take place with a contextual timing (i.e. “whenever,” “if,” “after,”
etc.) take place immediately after finishing the resolution of a sentence.

Example 1 - You play Namekian Right Throw and resolve its first sentence by shuffling a Dragon Ball
into your Life Deck. After completing that, Namekian Knowledge Mastery’s “whenever” effect raises
your anger 1 level for shuffling a card into your Life Deck. Then, proceed to the next sentence of
Namekian Right Throw and raise your anger 2 levels.

Example 2 -You activate Black Devious Mastery by discarding Black Corruption. Resolve the first
sentence of Black Devious Mastery by banishing the bottom two cards of your opponent’s discard
pile. Then, Black Corruption’s “if” effect banishes the top two cards of your opponent’s Life Deck.
Finally, complete the next sentence of Black Devious Mastery and discard a card from your
opponent’s hand.

Competing timings: When you have multiple effects to resolve with the exact same timing, you may
choose the order in which they occur. If both players have effects to resolve with the exact same
timing, the player who initiated combat resolves all effects first.

Example 1 - You have Blue Overpowering Drill and Blue Positioning Drill in play, and you stop an
attack. You may resolve the effects of Blue Overpowering Drill and Blue Positioning Drill in any
order you choose.

Example 2 - You declare combat and activate the Power of Krillin - Ready. On your opponent’s next
action, he also activates the Power of his Krillin - Ready. Later in combat, a card is discarded from a
hand. You would use the “next time” effect of Krillin - Ready first, then your opponent would do
the same.



2016 Season Organized Play Restricted Cards:
« Black Smoothness Drill - limit 1 per deck. (Premiere $96, Evolution S35, Vengeance P1)
Individual Card Rulings
Premiere Set

S2 Vegeta - Villainous and S3 Vegeta - Empowered: These Powers only apply to attacks that raise
your anger as an immediate effect (HIT effects do not apply). If you are unable to raise your anger,
the modifier is not applied.

S8 Goku, Super Saiyan: Treat this card as if it reads “Search your Life Deck, discard pile, and
Banished Zone for a total of up to 5 Drills and place them into play.”

S18 Frieza - Transformed: This effect is considered a copied attack.

S25/R145 Saiyan Empowered Mastery: Raise your anger 1 level for each Styled card that is
Rejuvenated.

S30/R145 Namekian Knowledge Mastery: Treat this card as if it reads “Whenever one of your
effects during combat Rejuvenates or shuffles cards into your Life Deck, raise your anger 1 level.
After a Namek Dragon Ball enters play under your control, destroy the top card of your opponent’s
Life Deck. While you control 1 Dragon Ball, it cannot be captured by a critical damage effect.”

S37 Black Targeting Drill: Your effects that target specific cards to be discarded are not affected by
Black Targeting Drill. For example, Stare Down would discard the chosen card.

S65 Blue Guard: Treat this card as if it reads “(If this card would be discarded from your hand by a
card effect, you may banish it instead to draw a card). Stops an energy attack.”

C15 Black Corruption: Treat this card as if it reads “(If this card is discarded from your hand by one
of your card effects during combat, banish the top 2 cards of your opponent’s Life Deck.) Stops an
energy attack. Raise your anger 1 level and lower your opponent’s anger 2 levels.”

C19 Black Punishment: Treat this card as if it reads “Energy attack costing 2 stages. DAMAGE: 4 life
cards. Raise your anger 1 level. HIT: Until the start of your next turn, whenever a card banishes itself
after use your opponent destroys the top card of his Life Deck.”

U6 Captain Ginyu - Body Change and U7 Captain Ginyu - Frog: These Powers only prevent
“discarding” an Ally, such as using a Critical Damage effect. Effects that destroy or banish Allies are
not prevented.

U66 Blue Avoidance and S144 Blue Swift Block: When you copy an attack, treat it as if you played
an invisible copy of the card yourself. You do not receive any modifiers that the opponent applied to
the attack, and AT damage is calculated from your personality’s power level. If you copy an attack
that stays on the table to be used again, it is not present on the table for a second use. If you copy
an attack that attaches, the invisible copy does not attach.

U76 Black Delay: Treat this card as if it reads “ENDURANCE 1. Stops a physical attack. If that attack
was a Physical Combat card, return it to your opponent’s hand. If that attack did not contain “Banish
after use,” your opponent discards a random card from his hand.”

U86 Namekian Flinch: Treat the final sentence of this card as if it reads “If your MP is level 3 or
higher, search your Life Deck for a Dragon Ball and place it into play.”

U144 Quickness Drill: Treat this card as if it is an Instant Power (thus it may only be used once per
turn).

R124 Black Disorienting Blow: Hero/Villain only cards and Named cards are for deck construction
purposes only, and may be targeted regardless of your MP’s name or Alignment. You may not play
Events that have a contextual timing, such as Time is a Warrior’s Tool or Heroic Energy Sphere.



R125 Black Reflection: After resolving the attack, treat the targeted card as though it was played by
your opponent. If it is banished after use, it will return to your opponent’s Banished Zone. If it is
discarded after use, it returns to your opponent’s discard pile. If it would be shuffled into a Life Deck
after use, shuffle it into your opponent’s Life Deck. You may target any attack card, including Setups.
You may not target cards that conditionally perform attacks, such as Allies.

R126/P16 Black Scout Maneuver: Treat this card as if it reads “(Banish after use.) POWER: Name a
Physical Combat, Energy Combat, or Event card. Search your opponent’s Life Deck for all copies of
that card and banish them.”

R138 Orange Searching Maneuver: Search for the drill immediately, and set it aside to be placed
into play at the end of combat. If it is unable to enter play at that time, it remains outside of play
(separate from the banished zone) until the game ends.

R139 Orange Uppercut: Treat this card as if it reads “(Banish after use.) Physical attack. DAMAGE:
AT +4 stages. You may pay 2 power stages to search your Life Deck for a Styled Energy Combat card
and place it into your hand.”

R144 Red Observation: This card has no cost to play, and may be used regardless of your MP’s
current power stages. If you are able to pay five or more stages for the first effect, you must. If you
are unable to pay, move on to the next sentence and resolve the remaining effects normally.

P17 Piccolo’s Special Beam Cannon: Treat this card as if it reads “Energy attack costing 2 stages.
DAMAGE: 3 life cards. Rejuvenate 1. HIT: Name two different non-Dragon Ball cards. Search your
opponent’s Life Deck for 1 copy of each card and banish them.”

Heroes & Villains

C40 Orange Crashing Drill: Treat this card as if it reads “When this card is entering play during
combat, your opponent destroys the top card of his Life Deck. When this card is leaving play during
combat, your opponent destroys the top card of his Life Deck.”

C42 Orange Nudge: The drill is returned even if it is not in your discard pile at the end of combat.
You may search your Life Deck, hand, or Banished Zone for the targeted drill and place it into play.

C60 Combination Drill: Treat this card as if it was both Instant Power and Continuous Power (thus it
must be used whenever you enter combat). If your opponent uses the effects of this drill, it does not
allow you to then choose a new drill to destroy.

U71 Trunks - Bashful: Treat this card as a Hero Ally that reads “(You may use this power regardless
of your MP’s power stage.) Instant POWER: Use when entering combat. Look at the top card of a
player's Life Deck. You may place that card at the bottom of that player’s Life Deck.”

U100 Tenshinhan’s Preparation: The user of this card destroys the top 2 cards of his or her Life Deck
first, then the opponent.

R127 Saiyan Outrage: Treat this card as if it reads “(Banish after use.) Power: Stops a physical or
energy attack. If the defending personality has a higher power level than the attacking personality,
then at the end of combat you may search your Life Deck for a card that can attach to your MP and
place it into play attached.” (Note: this is reflected in the printing of P10 Saiyan Outrage).

R131 Isolation: Treat this card is if it reads “(Banish after use.) Instant Power: Use when entering
combat. Drills and Allies lose all effects until the end of combat. Allies cannot make actions nor have
damage redirect to them this combat.”

The Movie Collection

C2 Master Roshi - Scouted: Treat this card as if it reads “(Heroes only.) Players cannot use effects to
search a player's Life Deck.



C5 Dr. Wheelo - Intelligent: Treat this card as if it reads “(Villains only.) POWER: Banish “Dr.
Wheelo” to choose an Ally, Drill, or Setup in play and shuffle that card into its owner’s Life Deck.

C14 Black Flying Knee: You may name the same card twice, but two copies must be revealed.

C28 Namekian Mouth Beam: Treat this card as if it reads “(Banish after use.) ENDURANCE 1. Energy
attack costing 2 stages. DAMAGE: 4 life cards. HIT: Choose a Styled card with a shield icon in your
discard pile and Rejuvenate it.”

C42 Orange Smash: Treat this card as if it reads “Physical attack. DAMAGE: AT +4 stages. Banish up
to 3 Drills you control. At the end of combat, place those Drills into play under their owner’s control
from the Banished Zone.”

C60 Lookout Drill: Treat this card as if it reads “(After this Drill enters play from your hand,
Rejuvenate 1.) The first time each turn an opponent’s effect would cause you to destroy or banish
cards from the top of your Life Deck, reduce that amount to 0.”

U100 Saiyan Upward Kick: This effect also prevents your opponent from “raising” stages. Note that
leveling up allows you to “set” your MP to 10 stages above zero.

R139 Pulverize: You would search your Life Deck for the Physical Combat or Energy Combat attack
card, reveal it, shuffle your Life Deck, and then place the chosen card on top.

P9 Orange Stare Down: Treat this card as if it reads “Energy attack costing 2 stages. DAMAGE: 4 life
cards. Banish an opponent’s Setup, Drill, or Ally.”

P4 Red Shoulder Grab: Treat this card as if it reads “Physical attack. DAMAGE: AT +3 stages. Raise
your anger 1 level. For the remainder of combat, all of your other attacks are considered to deal
critical damage.

Evolution
S81 Namek Dragon Ball 6: Treat this card type as if it reads “Dragon Ball.”

S97 Namekian Reinforced Block: Treat this card as if it reads “ENDURANCE 2. Stops a physical
attack. Your Dragon Balls cannot be captured this combat.”

S$105 Orange Calming Drill: Treat this card as if it has “ENDURANCE 1.”

S$107 Orange Joint Restraint Drill: Treat this card as if it reads “Your physical attacks deal +2 stages
of damage.”

$109 Orange Cover Up: Treat this card as if it reads “ENDURANCE 1. Stops a physical attack. Also
stops a physical attack in your opponent’s next action.”

S148 Red Lightning Slash: Treat this card as if it reads “Physical attack. DAMAGE: AT stages. Raise
your anger 1 level. HIT: You may lower your anger 2 levels to destroy all of your opponent’s Allies or
all of his Drills.”

C15 Blue Knee: Treat the Instant Power icon on this card as if it were an attack icon.

C42 Red Quick Jab: Treat the Instant Power icon on this card as if it were an attack icon.

C52 Saiyan Empowered Smash: Treat this card as if it had an attack icon.

U79 Red Forceful Strike: Treat the Instant Power icon on this card as if it were an attack icon.

U84 Saiyan Sword Strike: Treat this card as if it reads “Physical attack. If your opponent passed as
his last action this combat, this attack cannot be stopped nor have its damage prevented. DAMAGE:
AT +4 stages.”

R122 Saiyan Tracking Blast: Treat the Instant Power icon on this card as if it were an attack icon.

R126 Android 18’s Toss: Treat the Instant Power icon on this card as if it were an attack icon.



R130 Android 20’s Domination: Treat this card type as if it reads “Physical Combat.”

P4 Trunks - Bashful: Treat this card as a Hero Ally that reads “(You may use this power regardless of
your MP’s power stage.) INSTANT POWER: Use when entering combat. Look at the top card of a
player's Life Deck. You may place that card at the bottom of that player’s Life Deck.”

Perfection

U91 Orange Charge: If you fail to reveal a Styled attack, the revealed cards are shuffled into your
Life Deck.

R115 Overwhelming Power: Treat the final sentence of this card’s parenthetical text as “If this card
is placed into your hand by a non-Mastery card effect, you may use a Critical Damage effect.”

DR4 Cell - Unstoppable: Treat this card as if it also reads “(This card’s non-instant power may only
be used once per game.)”

P13 Red City Destruction: Treat this card as an Event (and not an Energy Combat).
Vengeance

N/A

Awakening

S$101 Saiyan Back Crash: Treat this card as if it has “ENDURANCE 0.”

U97 Red Pummel: Treat this card’s HIT effect as if it reads “At the end of combat, you may set your
anger to 0. If you do, search your Life Deck or discard pile for a drill and play it.”

R135 Hercule’s Dynamite Kick: If you are taking damage and can only discard Dragon Balls and/or
Hercule’s Dynamite Kick, your opponent wins by Survival Victory.

Gold Title Reprint

The following cards are direct reprints from the DBZ CCG (2001), and you may use the original
version.

Premiere Set
. BlackSideT!
°  BlackErersy-Web
* Blue Defensive Flight
¢  Blue Arm Blast
* Blue Round Throw
* OrangePowerPoint
* Red Power Punch
* Red-Energy Defensive-Stance
* Red Energy Shield
* Red Blocking Hand

* Saiyan Energy Toss

. Saivan Wrist Blocl



Saiyan Energy Rupture
Saiyan-Feeus

Saiyan Direct Strike
Saiyan Lightning Dodge
Sai c .

Black Fist Lock

Black Overpowering Attack
Black Upward Dodge

Blue Face Crunch

Blue Leverage

Saiyan Blocking Technique

Saiyan Hand Swipe

Heroes & Villains



