It’s been a glorious week on the Dragon Ball Z front as Panini America’s triumphant reintroduction of the popular Trading Card Game has been met with rave reviews and passionate participation from all over North America. Today, we’re bringing you another batch of must-see images, including all of the preview images that we provided to our partner sites (at DBZ Top Tier, DBZ Fanatics, Retro DBZ and the Panini DBZ Facebook News Page), San Diego Comic-Con Promo Card images and more.
But before we get to the images, our very own Aik Tongtharadol has provided an all-new FAQ document that addresses many of the questions that have come up in this first week of release. Enjoy and stay tuned to the Official Blog of Panini America Dragon Ball Z for additional coverage.
Powers may only be used once per turn, including Drills. However, Drill Powers may be used again if they leave and re-enter play, unlike Personalities/Masteries.
Playing versus Placing Into Play – There is a difference between playing and placing something into play. An example of this would be Orange Power Point and Orange Devouring Drill – since Devouring Drill checks for cards “played” and Power Point places it into play, you could not activate Devouring Drill.
When you use an effect to “play” a card, you still have to pay the costs of that card and if that card was a Dragon Ball, you can use the effect of that Dragon Ball when it enters play. For effects that “place” cards into play, you do not have to pay the costs for those cards and you would not use a Dragon Ball’s effect (unless it is a Constant effect).
Effects that modify the amount of anger needed to level up do not change the requirements to win by MPPV. For example, you win by MPPV when you reach five anger on level four against Blue Protective Mastery.
Hero/Villain Only cards and Named cards are for deck construction purposes only. For instance, a Hero may play Stare Down with Black Disorienting Blow. (However, Black Disorienting Blow may not play Events that have a contextual timing, such as Namekian Hybrid Defense or Heroic Energy Sphere).
HIT effects take place before Critical Damage effects.
The act of Rejuvenating is inherently the top card of your discard pile being placed on the bottom of your Life Deck. Some effects may modify which cards are Rejuvenated and where they are placed.
Card Text and Interactions
S12 Gohan, Armored and S30/R131 Namekian Knowledge Mastery may continually interact with each other as long as you have a card with the word “anger” in the text box in your discard pile.
S25/R145 Saiyan Empowered Mastery raises your anger 1 level per each card Rejuvenated.
S78 – Orange Truck Lift – This card is not printed with the first set and will be printed and distributed at a later date.
C19 – Black Punishment – Treat this card as if it reads “Energy attack costing 2 stages. DAMAGE: 4 life cards. Raise your anger 1 level. HIT: Until the start of your next turn, whenever a card banishes itself after use your opponent destroys the top card of his Life Deck.”
U66 Captain Ginyu, Body Change and U67 Captain Ginyu, Frog prevent discarding via critical damage effects (terminology in the rulebook is discard an Ally), but not “destroying” (or other forms of removal) from card effects.
U105 – Saiyan Surprise is not a direct reprint, and should not have gold text for its title.
U114 – Quickness Drill – This card effect is now an Instant Power and as such may only be used once per turn.
R138 – Orange Searching Maneuver searches for the drill immediately. Reveal it, then set it aside to be placed into play at the end of combat.
R126/P16 Black Scout Maneuver – Treat this card as if it reads “(Banish after use.) POWER: Name a Physical Combat, Energy Combat or Event card. Search your opponent’s Life Deck for all copies of that card and banish them.”
You can access a PDF version of the updated FAQ here: FAQv3
Now, for the images . . .